You’ve Never Been to Kyoto if You Don’t Have Your Selfies in These Three Iconic Places

It’s a mouthful title, I know -but there are too many places that you can go and choose to visit from in Kyoto. It’s a relatively small city that packed with something for everyone. It has the history, nature, food (of course!), arts, attractions and a lot of places to do your shopping as well. So Kyoto could definitely cater up to various people’s palette. Some people even said that one month is still not enough to explore every nook and corners that this city has. I believe that actually, but the thing is I don’t have one month to explore Kyoto! And think many travelers are also in my shoes.

Too many things to see and do in Kyoto. SO if you have only a limited time like me, then here are the Kyoto’s top three places that will worth every second of your trip. Afterward, you could peacefully checked-mark Kyoto from your list and sleep at night hehehe

Arashimaya Bamboo Grove

The path to the bamboo grove is not too long but wide enough to snug one car at a time. I took the path from the Nonomiya shrine. The bamboos are bigger but less dense as you started the path but continue to walk about 300 meters and you will finally arrive at the real bamboo grove.

the bamboo color are almost like jade green here
Pardon the picture that doesn’t really do justice to how the real bamboos’ color are

I almost couldn’t believe how green the bamboos are! The shades of green are almost like mint to jade green. And the bamboos are also denser here, which made them even prettier. Surprisingly the path is actually shorter than I think and it’s narrower than the bamboo forest earlier. I feel that even the air is different along this path. The air feels pure and fresh, a good cleanse for your lungs. So take a deep breath… then inhale and exhale slowly… 

A couple in their photo’s session in the bamboo grove

You know what you gotta do if you like to take your photos without too many people filling up your camera’s lens, yes? Yep, you have to come early. The best time to visit here is early in the morning around 7 am. As the sun goes higher up in the sky, so does the mile of people who will flock to this place.

Fushimi Inari Taisha Shrine

Another iconic place in Kyoto. It’s so famous that everyone who comes to Kyoto seems will have this place on their list. And so it’s safe to suggest for you to also include it on your list. When you are lost, just follow the crowds – that’s the rule of thumb that I use when I don’t really know where to go. That being said, I could understand why it’s on everyone’s Instagram who visited Kyoto.

IMG_20170423_190639_516
The iconic torii

What makes the torii‘s orange-red and black accent in this shrine different compared to the other temples? Well, I don’t really do research on all Japanese’s temples and their torii, but the Fushimi Inari Taisha could probably have the longest path of torii seeing how the path take up around 4 kilometers (I’m quoting the Wikipedia on this). I didn’t visit that many temples, so probably not going to be able to give you a valid account here, but from the few that I’ve visited — the place indeed has the most picturesque torii.

IMG_20170423_192410_973
The pathway to the top

Kinkakuji Temple – The Golden Pavillion

If there was the sun that day, then it must have been high up in the sky, but it was raining when I visited the temple. Clearly, I wasn’t the only one who defies the nature that day, seeing how groups of tourist came with their buses and there were also a bunch of students in their classic sailor uniform milling at the entrance. It was literally jammed packed and the worst timing for me to visit.

Kinkakuji Temple

source: JNTO

Regardless of the crowds and the cold, the pavilion definitely stood out in my eyes. It exudes the Japanese’s zen like that calls to me -am I making any sense to you? but it was how I felt, sorry if the words didn’t come through right. Stepping out from the line of the people, I tried to take a decent picture of the Golden Pavillion, but probably because my hands were freezing from the cold, none of them came out right. I wish I had come earlier to this place and could enjoy it more without so many people around me. So do take my lesson and learned from it: wherever you want to go, you have to go early to beat the crowds!

4 thoughts on “You’ve Never Been to Kyoto if You Don’t Have Your Selfies in These Three Iconic Places

Leave a Reply

